mini Cinnamon Sugar Pull Apart Muffins

mini pull apart cinnamon muffin recipe

Once upon a time, I was perusing Pinterest and came across an insanely scrumptious picture of a Cinnamon Pull Apart muffin.  I couldn’t stop thinking about it for weeks and kept revisiting WendySeeWendyDo.com just to drool over it.  Alas, I couldn’t handle it anymore, and decided to try my hand at it.  However, I only have a mini muffin pan, so that’s why mine are bite-sized!

Other than a few minor changes I made (like cutting the sugar content in half), I followed Wendy’s recipe to a tee.  Click here to visit her site!  The following is simply a copy & paste of her ingredients and directions, and the text in RED is what I ended up doing:

Ingredients  (this made 11 bite sized muffins for me)

  • Pillsbury Simply Rustic French Bread dough
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 1 cup sugar (I only used 1/2 cup of sugar)
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350ºF.

2.  In a small skillet, brown butter over medium-low heat, about 5 minutes.  You know the butter is browned when it turns a light caramel color and smells slightly nutty.  ((Be careful not to burn the butter!))  Once browned, set the butter aside to cool.

3.  Remove bread dough from tube and place on a cutting board.  Starting in the middle, divide the dough with a small slit.  Then divide again and again until you have 31 slits.  Using a very sharp knife, slice the dough.  You should end up with 32 slices.  Flatten each slice with you hands or a rolling pin and place on a sheet of parchment or wax paper.  (I didn’t have a rolling pin on hand, so I tried flattening them with my hand with very little success.  I finally gave up and used a wooden chopstick – works wonders!)

bite size cinnamon muffin recipe

4.  In a bowl, combine the sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

5.  To assemble the muffins, brush each dough slice with the brown butter.  Then sprinkle with the entire sugar mixture.  (Yes, ALL of the cinnamon sugar!)  Stack the dough slice on top of each other. (some stacks will have five slices and some will have six.)  Using a sharp knife, slice the stacks down the middle.  (Since mine are mini, I only stacked 3 slices together before slicing them down the middle)

bite sized cinnamon sugar muffin recipe

6.  Place two of the sliced stacks, side by side, cut side down into a greased muffin tin.  Repeat with the rest of the stacks.

7.  **This step is very important!!**  Before you put the muffin tin in the oven place it on a larger, rimmed baking sheet.  This will catch any butter/sugar overflow and avoid a very smokey oven.  (Yes, VERY important, because I forgot.  I was too excited to get them in the oven, and I ended up having to clean up a couple of drippings on the oven bottom >_< )

bite size cinnamon muffin recipe

Before & After

8.  Bake muffins for 20-25 minutes until tops are golden brown.  Allow to cool for 10 minutes.  Gently remove.  Enjoy!!  (10-12 minutes if you’re making mini’s like mine)

bite size cinnamon muffin recipe

bite size cinnamon muffin recipe

3 thoughts on “mini Cinnamon Sugar Pull Apart Muffins

  1. I keep visiting your page to drool over these food pictures as well so maybe I should just try the recipe already! Besides, you made them bite-sized so I’m sure they can’t be too bad calorie-wise…

    • Whatever they do to us calorie-wise is made up for ten-fold mental-happiness-wise! =D
      If you don’t eat them all that night, they are super delish coming out of the microwave the next day as well!

      • Ten-fold-mental-happiness… I’m SOLD! I’ll let you know how it goes when get around to trying it =)

Share your thoughts with me:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

